Annual Awards For Excellence

Annual Awards For Excellence

PHD Chamber Annual Awards for Excellence were instituted in 1997 to recognise Indian businesses, entrepreneurs, and individuals for their outstanding achievements/ contributions in select areas and to promote corporate and individual initiatives in economic, social and educational areas. Each Award is focussed on a different theme and consists of a Trophy and a Citation.

The process of selection started with inviting nominations which were compiled by the Secretariat and validated by an independent agency i.e. Grand Thornton India LLP. The applications were then presented to the committee members who recommended top applications as guidelines to assist the Jury. The Jury then made the final selection.

Profile of Jury Members

Chairman of the Jury – Hon'ble Dr. Justice A. S. Anand obtained degree of Phd (Law) from London University. He served as the 29th Chief Justice of India, from 10 October 1998 to 31 October 2001. On 11 May 1985, he was appointed as Chief Justice of High Court of Jammu and Kashmir and on 1 November 1989 as Chief Justice of High Court of Madras. On 17 February 2003, he became the Chairperson of the National Human Rights Commission till 31 October 2006. He is Fellow of University College, London, Honorary Fellow of the Society for Advanced Legal Studies, London, Honorary Bencher of Inner Temple, London. Dr. Anand has obtained degree of Phd (Law) from London University. On 10 May 2008, Dr. Anand was bestowed with the Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian award in India.


Mr. Sudarshan Agarwal is the former Governor of Uttarakhand and Sikkim. He is also a former Member of the National Human Rights Commission and Secretary General, Rajya Sabha. Mr. Agarwal served as the President, Delhi Gymkhana Club for two years. He has taken several community service initiatives including a free Boarding School for girls in Dehradun and a Voluntary Blood Bank at Delhi.


Dr. S. Y. Quraishi is a former Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India. He was appointed as the CEC on 30 July 2010. He has also served as a Secretary in the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. He is an IAS officer of the 1971 batch from Haryana cadre. He has a Ph.D. in Communications and Social marketing. He was also a Member of the Advisory Committee to assist and advise the Global Commission on Elections, Democracy and Security.


Mr. S C Gupta is a Former Chairman and Managing Director of Punjab National Bank. He was appointed as CMD of Punjab National Bank on 30 April 2005. He has earlier served in various Public Sector Banks like Indian Overseas Bank, State Bank of India, Syndicate Bank and Oriental Bank of Commerce. Mr. Gupta has also been associated with ISMT Limited as a part of its Board of Directors.


Mr. Sunil Kant Munjal is the Chairman of Hero Corporate Service Pvt Ltd. He is the founder Chairman of BML Educorp Services. He is on boards of the Indian School of Business at Hyderabad and Mohali. He is Member of Board of Governors of IIT, Ropar in Punjab. He also serves on President’s Council at the University of Tokyo. He has been appointed by the Punjab Government as Chairman of the Board of Governors of Punjab Technical University, Jalandhar in October 2012. He is an Advisory Board Member of the UK India Business Council.


Ex-Officio Members 

Dr. Mahesh Gupta, President,  PHD Chamber

Mr. Gopal S Jiwarajka, Senior Vice President, PHD Chamber

Mr. Anil Khaitan,Vice President, PHD Chamber

Mr. Alok B. Shriram, Immediate Former President, PHD Chamber

Mr. Sanjay Bhatia, Chairman, Business Practices and Awards Committee, PHD Chamber

PHD Chamber is grateful to all the distinguished members of the Jury for their valuable guidance and cooperation in this endeavour.

Recipients of the
PHD Chamber Annual Awards for Excellence 2016 

PHD Chamber feels privileged to honour the distinguished recipients of the PHD Chamber Annual Awards for Excellence 2016.

  • Good Corporate Citizen Award
    National Thermal Power Corporation (NTPC) Ltd.
  • Distinguished Entrepreneurship Award
     Mr. Narendra Bansal, CMD, Intex Technologies Ltd.
  • Outstanding Businesswoman Award
    Dr. Jyotsna Suri, CMD, Bharat Hotels Ltd.
  • Award for Outstanding Contribution to Social Welfare
    Trident Limited.
  • Award for Excellence in Skill Development
    Jubilant Life Sciences.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
    ​​​Mr. R. K. Saboo, Chairman, KDDL Ltd.

As the Chamber has always been working towards the development of MSME (Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises) and addresses the concerns of the industry to help them enhance their competitiveness in the marketplace, Last year PHD Chamber introduced Awards specifically for the MSMEs.

  • Distinguished Entrepreneurship Award for MSME
    Mr. Dev Prakash Goel, Managing Director, Conquerent Control Systems Pvt. Ltd.
  • Outstanding Achiever for Exports Award for MSME
    Sahasra Electronics.

PHD Chamber feels privileged to honour the distinguished recipients of the Awards for Excellence 2016. The list of recipients of the PHD Chamber Annual Awards since 1997 is available in the Citation Booklet given below.

Citation Booklet 2016